I’m the captain of this boat

Uncategorized

I’m entering my senior year of college with big decisions to make in a couple of months. I was told that college was a way to network and a time to make decisions that can have an impact on my future. So I’m guessing high school was a time to make stupid decisions and a great time to learn from your mistakes. With that being said there’s so much pressure on me to be make the right choices, “your next job could be your career for the rest of your life.” At my age now I thought I was suppose to have it all figured out – my career and everything else; but I don’t. At 21-25 you’re suppose to be building the stepping grounds for the rest of your life, is this really true? Do I really have to make these big decisions at such a young age or am I just old and denying the fact that I’m getting older? Who’s to decide when my life starts anyway, isn’t it my life? I then realized that expecting all these things would mean that I would be living a life that someone else planned. Lets face it all these things will happen on my time because it is in fact MY LIFE. I emphasize the my life because that’s exactly what it is, MY choices, MY mistakes, etc. (I think you get the point) Here I stand at a young but wise age and I have realized that my life has already started a very long time ago. I have realized that the things I want in life will not be given to me but earned. So as far as having my life together, I do. I have an idea of what I want to do and where I want to go. I know that some things will just fall into place while others have to be worked hard to achieve. Now will unexpected surprises happen that leave me unsure – yes! In all I know that my life will be everything I want it to be because in the end I make the decisions for me and no one else is in control of my life but me. I know that there will be a series of unfortunate events, but I believe that I am stronger than obstacle that is thrown in front of me. So you may all be wondering why you’re reading this and why you should care about my life and who I am as a person. I wrote this because there’s a lot of people out there trying to live the life that someone else expects. There are people out there that believe that they have to be doing something by a certain age, when in reality they are in control and decide when these things happen. In life there are times when we are uncertain and confused. We’re so use to having the answers right at our fingertips that when we don’t have the answers right away we start doubting ourselves. We start thinking that we’re doing something wrong or not going about it in the right way. Sometimes that’s not the case at all, in fact sometimes we’re on the right path just looking in the wrong direction. Moral of the story here is don’t be afraid if you don’t have it all figured out yet, I know people twice my age that have no idea what they want to do. You have to learn from your mistakes in order to succeed in life. Let things happen, don’t be afraid to take chances, and realize that you will fail at things your good but don’t let it stop you from trying it again.

4 thoughts on “I’m the captain of this boat

  1. I have a problem with this ‘succeeding’ in life point of view. Life is an experience from start to finish. It is not a race to be won or a mountain to be climbed. To say you succeed at life or living your life only points to the fact you judge others to have failed at living their lives. Some people do not get a choice in the sort of life they live. The starving in Africa could only be regarded as failures in this point of view.

    1. Take a moment to read some of my other blog post. From my point of view you don’t have to judge someone or step on others to be successful. In fact I believe that the only way you can get a head in life is if you help others. I’m not one to judge or put labels on people in fact I’m very much against those types of things.

  2. I guess that succeeding could mean that, as an individual, you feel accomplished with the end result of something you’ve done. You’re happy with the outcome or you’re at least glad that you tried something even if it didn’t provide the end result you hoped for. Succeeding to me means that you’ve completed something and you’re satisfied. Succeeding doesn’t mean that you’ve made everyone else happy, succeeding provides self awareness that you’ve done your best. The feeling you get when you know you’ve done you’re best, that’s amazing..you’ve done you’re best..you have succeeded.

Leave a Reply

